Battles and Brawlers: Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale

Sony fans, meet Super Smash Bros. It is one of Nintendo’s finest franchises and its legacy cannot be understated. Super Smash Bros. is a love letter to Nintendo fans, and has truly lived up to its name. The latest instalment came out four years ago, yet is still frequently the reason my Wii is ever turned on. And I am not alone. Listen to the crowd at E3. The mere mention of the series has everyone cheering. If the Wii U doesn’t save Nintendo, Smash Bros. certainly will.

Any veteran of the industry knows when Nintendo innovates, Sony follows. While the Nintendo Wii will never host such powerhouse-shooters such as Resistance 3 and Killzone 3, it is hard not to give Nintendo some credit. This brings us to Friday morning. On April 27th, almost every gaming website had an abundance of coverage on Sony’s new game, Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale.

Looking at the footage, Sony’s inspiration is fairly obvious. Sony is developing their own Smash Bros., complete with a ridiculous title. According to many previews, the controls work similarly and gameplay is essentially identical. After watching all there is to see, and reading all there is to read, I can honestly say that I can’t wait for this game. Regular readers know my opinion on the industry’s lack of innovation and surplus of recycled ideas. Why is it that I am so excited for Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale?

There is never a single reason to explain a phenomenon, but there is one leading factor; I want more Smash Bros. Masahiro Sakurai, the man behind the wheel of the franchise, is known for taking his time during development. He will push deadlines to add more content. This is in addition to the huge gap between each release. Simply put, I am so excited for All-Stars because it is released this year.

While Sakurai’s charm and generous philosophy of game development will surely give Nintendo’s crossover-fighter the edge, The Big N’s faithful followers should smile. This is Sony’s way of applauding Nintendo’s work. Furthermore, Sony fans simply can’t deny the clear inspiration, and it is essentially a whole new roster to your favourite game. Just remember, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

4 responses to “Battles and Brawlers: Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale

  1. The Smash Bros concept is easy and fun. I really can’t blame Sony for copying them. There not creative enough to come up with their own freaking ideas though!

  2. Ouch, so many bite marks on Sony’s arm! While I’m not really excited for this title, I can’t help but defend it. The only elements similar to a SSB game are the fact that there are 4 combatants on the screen and it takes characters in from many franchises. Both of these concepts in their own right are not created by SSB if my memory serves me right. That aside, even if it was intentionally a mimic, that’s not such a bad thing. Games have been copying good formulas for decades. Its only when things get stagnant that it’s harmful, so it’s no bother to me. I won’t yell about how the original Mario Bros ripped off it’s idea from previous platformers, because I just loved it to death.

    Originality is in the eye of the beholder, copying sometimes breeds innovation, and competition breeds innovation.

    Also, it is indeed sad how close Move controllers are to Wii controllers, but at least Sony was doing motion capture via EyeToy and Accelerometers long before Wii came out, so you have to give them some credit ^_^

    • Hey guys, thanks for the read and comment.
      Cabbit, a few things I would like to say in reply.
      A) I’m a huge fan of your blog
      B) When I see footage from PASBR, I can’t help but make the comparison to SSB. I am not the only one. Most previews I have read have at least mentioned the franchise. With that said, this article was not meant to offend any Sony fans. I am a huge Sony fan, and believe that they may be the most reliable company in the industry. The Playstation 3 was easily the best home console these past few years. Also, PASBR looks fantastic, and sky-rocketed to the top of my radar.
      C) I can completely agree with your EyeToy statement, but its hard to deny that Sony’s interest and general direction with the technology shifted after the Wii’s success.

      • Ah, thanks for the kind words! Loving your blog as well! Not sure why it took me so long to +Follow it. I know the gist of the post wasn’t against Sony, I just felt the urge to address some points. As well as some of my points were for Vinny to consider as well.

        Also, no doubt on Sony’s interest in Wii’s success. Especially when it had already generated some 75Million consoles sold back when Move was coming out. The thing they didn’t realize is that it’s not just the Console or Motion, it’s Nintendo 😛

        Thanks for the reply, it’s good talking with ya again ^_^

Leave a Reply

